Under Options > Data Collect there are three options that affect the data that is saved in the Event Data spreadsheet during your event. Enable Collect Emails, Add Disclaimer, and Collect User Data. The last one is the most important as it collects everything entered by your guests while sharing (sans passwords). That includes email addresses, phone numbers, Twitter and Instagram handles, and much, much more. Most clients are very interested in this data so please pay close attention to these settings.  Follow along below for more information and how to configure them.



Navigate to your event settings at HERE. Select an event and navigate to the Options menu located on the left. Then select the Data Collect from the blue bar at the top of the menu. You'll be presented with the following options:

1. 

Enable Collect Emails

With Enable Collect Emails turned on, every time a guest tries to share they will be asked to enter an email address. Even if they are only printing, they will be required to enter an email address before proceeding. It does not save any social logins or handles from Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, or any sharing metrics. If Enable Collect Emails is on and Collect User Data is off, your Event Data spreadsheet will ONLY have a list of collected emails.


Enable Collect Emails is required if you are using a Disclaimer or Survey.


2. 

Add Disclaimer

With Add disclaimer enabled, you can have a disclaimer message appear once the guest selects a sharing option. You can customize the contents of the disclaimer in this section.

You can enable the option to Allow User to Opt Out.  The Opt Out feature is there to give your guests the option to abort the share process if they do not agree to the terms of your disclaimer. You can adjust the Agree Text and Opt Out text to change the text of the button the guests use when agreeing or opting out of the disclaimer to the disclaimer.

You can adjust the text and options that the guest must review and accept as the terms of the disclaimer. These options will appear on the disclaimer in the order in which they are created in Event Manager. You can also add as many of these options as you would like to appear throughout the disclaimer. To add fields your guests must review, you can choose from the following:


Select the Add New Text button to create a field where generic disclaimer text and be added. The message field appear like so:


Select Add New Permission to apply a disclaimer and checkbox that the guest's check off to accept. If Is Required is selected, will require the guest to accept the disclaimer before being able to share their media. If it is required for the guest to complete, the button to advance through the disclaimer will be grayed out in PPU Kiosk until the disclaimer has been accepted. If applicable, select delete from any field to remove that particular feature from the disclaimer.


Choose Generic Checkbox Input to create where guest response is recorded in the Event Data spreadsheet (True=checked, False=Unchecked).

Select Save personal data if checked  from the drop down menu to allow the the guest to agree to save their personal data to the Event Data spreadsheet. If you have a Save personal data if checked option in your disclaimer, and the guest does not check that box, their name, e-mail address, phone number, and social media usernames will be replaced with "Anonymous" in the Event Data spreadsheet (and the background database). This allows you to record statistics of how many uploads and shares were completed at your event without gathering your guests personal data (and the complications associated with that).



Select Add Name Input to create a field within the disclaimer that will allow the guest to enter their name. If "Is Required?" is checked, the guest will need to enter something into this field to move forward with their share.



Select Add Email Input to create a field within the disclaimer that will allow the guest to enter their email. If "Is Required?" is checked, the guest will need to enter something into this field to move forward with their share.



When disclaimers are enabled and the guest selects a sharing option, the disclaimer will appear. Here is an example below of how it could appear in PPU Kiosk:




3. 

Collect User Data

Collect user data is the most important check box and is therefore enabled by default. If you disable Collect user data you will NOT save any user data!


WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU DO NOT DISABLE COLLECT USER DATA UNLESS YOUR CLIENT SPECIFICALLY REQUESTS THAT YOU DO NOT SAVE ANY USER DATA!!


There really is no reason to disable it otherwise. You don't have to download the user data spreadsheet if you don't want to, but your client may change their mind and ask for their data later. You wont be able to turn on Collect user data after your event and retrieve it. The data will only save if it is enabled during your event.


Collected Data includes email addresses, Facebook login emails, Twitter and Instagram handles, Survey responses, file names, microsite URLs, many metrics related to page views and social reach, and so much more.


Note: Social media passwords are never recorded.


4. 

Download Data

Submit your event and refresh your Helper to start collecting data. 


After your event is over, find your event in the Event Manager event list and click the blue link that says Event Data. If only Enable Collect Emails is used, the link will instead say Collect Emails.


This link will generate an .xlsx spreadsheet with all of the data collected during the event.


FAQ

I didn't have collect user email or enable data collect enabled in my event. Is it possible for me to retrieve any data?

Enable Collect User Data is on by default when creating an event. You should always leave it on. And, if it becomes disabled, the data collected is extremely limited. However it is possible to extract some limited information by following these steps:

    1. Launch PPU Helper

    2. Double click on the icon or right click it and select configure to open the configure window.

    3. 3/4 of the page down there is text that says Click to open folder with your logs then a file path below it. Select the file path link.

    4. Navigate to and double click the folder that corresponds with the date of the event.

    5. Read through the .txt files to gather information from each share.


Congratulations!  You're now prepared to collect various information and data from your guests as they come through your station.